In Provo.

5 Jul

Subject: 30 JUN 2010

>
>
> Hello, All!
>
> Ok, so here’s the big news: I’m not in Mexico. I’m not surprised at > all, so don’t get too excited about it. :)
>
> I have something called “permiso.” If anyone understands this better > than I do, feel free to let me know (wink, wink: Alene) From what I > understand, it means that the Mexican government has started my > paperwork and I could be called “any day” to the consulate (sp?). For > different people, the results of permiso have been very different. I > know some elders who had permiso only for a weekend and were flying > out the next Thursday. I also know some elders who had permiso and > have been here four weeks overtime. So it’s up in the air as to when I > will be going to MX, and I’m really not upset about it. We consider it > an opportunity to learn and grow more, so in that way, it’s a great > thing.
>
> A quick rendering of the week’s events:
>
> Last Wednesday, after I wrote, I went to the Provo Temple to serve > there. The temple is closed for the next five weeks, and we were able > to help in the removal of some carpet so they could install a new one. > Unfortunately, Elder Forbush threw out his back during our service and > we’ve had three chiropractor trips so far to straighten him out. :) > We’re hoping he’ll be better soon.
>
> Also, we’ve had a really special opportunity. Last Wednesday-Sunday > was the conference for new mission presidents. This essentially means > that there were General Authorities everywhere. Elder Richard G Scott > possibly gets the most excercise, as I heard most people talking about > seeing him. We had a special devotional by Dallin H. Oaks on Friday > night; seated on the stand with Elder Oaks were Elders Holland, Cook, > Nelson, Scott, Bednar, Christofferson, and Anderson. So that was neat. > :)
>
> Last night, the president of the young women, Elaine Dalton was here > for our devotional. I don’t usually share notes from talks, but I > wanted to share two things that I thought were especially neat. We are > sent forth to preach the gospel with confidence; the word confidence > comes from the latin “con fideo,” meaning “with faith.” The second > thing was a bit of runners advice, applied to the trials in this life: > “You never decide to quit and turn back while you’re in the middle of > the hill.”
>
> The last thing I want to share today is about my new companionship. > One person in our district did not get permiso, so he was sent to > Arizona for a temporary assignment. This means that I’m now in a trio; > Elder Forbush and I are with Elder Barnett. So right now I have two > companions.
>
> I hope all of you are well. I think on you often and hope for your > saftey and health. Know that whatever trials come in this life, with > God all is possible.
>
> [end]
>
> —
> Elder Samuel Tyrone Speer
>
>
> NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended > recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any > unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you > are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email > and destroy all copies of the original message. >
>

Comments are closed.

