1 noviembre 2010.

1 Nov

Dear Mom, Dad, family, and friends:

I have officially eaten something weird on the mission. Although I’ve been waiting for the day that I’d eat cow eyeball or tongue or something, I never expected that day to come in a quick taco run a week or so back. I now understand why Mom has to protect our goats from people who just want to buy them to eat them. Dad, I’ll be finding a few recipies for when I get back; goat guts are delicious.

For a while now, I’ve been wondering what sort of Mexican food stand I can start in the states. Tortas filos are of course on the list– tacos del pastor as well– but right now the food that’s winning is called a huarach. Huaraches are wonderful. They take the tortilla dough and roll some black beans into it, then they press it flat like a little fat tortilla and put salsa, onion, and cheese on top. I love them.

Well, this week has been a week of many changes. Literally. I hit my six month mark last Thursday, so I’m kind of amazed by that. And today was the day of transfers. (drumroll please)

Elder Arredondo went to Tula, Hidalgo, and I stayed here. A new elder came here to be my district leader and companion; his name is Elder Haynie. I really like him, and think I’m going to enjoy the next TWO days with him, because after that, I’m getting emergency transferred! I’ll tell you all the details next week, when I know what they all are. So that’s what happened in today’s transfers.

Annette and Mom, if you could please get into contact so that I can have Net’s email address, that would be great. I’ve received a letter from her and would like to respond by email.

To answer a few pending questions: They don’t really celebrate Halloween here, but they do know what it is. They also take the first and second day of November off work for ‘Día de Muertos’. I keep trying to figure out the difference, but all I understand is they’re considered different holidays.

I think that is so cool that Bishop Gabbard is hard at work in the Fair Grove Ward. Give him my best, if you get the chance.

I love you all and wish you the best. I’m excited to tell you what happens to me this week! Take care, and always remember the importance of the companionship of the Holy Ghost. I’ve been amazed by how plentiful the promptings come when we are at work doing the right things.

Love ya!

Comments are closed.

