17 enero 2011.

17 Jan

Dear family and friends.

Dad, I miss you so much. One of the only guys I know besides myself that still thinks it’s cool to do ascii art. Alene and April, thank you so much for your letters, and Alysha, for your CD– I’m listening to it right now.

I have a clarification. The pic of the scorpion that I sent home last week did not almost kill me. Sometimes I exaggerate to make stories more interesting. On the contrary, my companion found the scorpion dead in our bathroom a few minutes after I had gone in and used it; made me wonder how close I came to stepping on it… and since we found it dead, it’s actually quite possible I did step on it and kill it.

One of the coolest things I saw this week was a band saw in a meat store. They just turn it on and cut a few steaks, then turn it back off and hand over the steaks to the buyer. Do they do that in all butcher shops and I just don’t know?

This past week, Elder de Hoyos, a Seventy, came and visited us to give us a few tips. He talked a lot about the Atonement of Jesus Christ, and how it has to change our lives and be the center of what we teach. Although that may seem obvious, sometimes we get lost in getting people to church, reading the book of Mormon, praying, and baptismal dates that we forget why we’re really there– so that this child of God can accept Christ’s atonement in their life, have faith in Him, and become His child as well by following the precepts He has outlined to apply the atonement in our lives. I know that Christ lives and that He is our Savior. He is the only one to whom we can turn for redemption. This is what we are trying to do as missionaries here, help people come to that realization.

That it may be a realization in your own lives,

Elder Speer.

Two fotos this week.
780 – My current district; there’s only four of us right now.
779 – Something I’ve dearly missed.

Comments are closed.

